Chevrons: I gave in to the fad and I don’t regret it

I’ve resisted designing a chevron piece for a really long time. I’ve joked about it and viewed it as the new trendy design element seen all over sites like Pinterest and Wanelo (like the “put a bird on it”  and “keep calm and carry on” crazes). Secretly, I love chevrons and finally caved to their angled ways. Chevrons are so versatile and so fun! They look great as solids or patterned, they can be girly or masculine and they can be casual or sophisticated. I ended up designing a casual and femine chevron pattern that reminded me of a vintage quilt.

I created a simple chevron template in Photoshop and combined several patterned elements that I commonly use in my digital collages. I wanted to use a girly color palette of pinks, blues and greens to soften up the angular shapes of the pattern. You can find products with this pattern at http://society6.com/ElephantTrunkStudio/Herringbone-Pattern_Print. I hope to add many various products with this pattern to my Zazzle shop, so stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Art, decor, Home, products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

